Anyone had the soundbrige implant

Alexmeek

Waiting to discuss with my consultant the option of a Bonebridge implant or BAHA! anybody here had it done and can share info with me etc?

Thanks

• HearPeers Heroes

Alex,

Welcome to hearpeers!! I have two cochlear il ants so I can't really give much advice. I mainly wanted to welcome you. This is a great group of folks. I am sure ivana will be chiming in soon as she can answer any questions you might have. We are looking forward to getting to know you.

Adam

Hi, I'm new to this and I am looking for advise/help with regards to having a bone conduction hearing aid implanted. I am 32 and at the age of 26 had a stapedectomy on my left ear. Unfortunately 2 weeks post surgery I developed an infection which killed my hearing in this side. 
Since then I have used general hearing aids but have recently been given the option of bone conduction which appears to help me massively!
I am due back to audiology in 3 weeks to discuss my options for surgery etc.
I have the option of a bone anchored hearing aid or the Bonebridge implant and was wondering if anybody on here had experience of these!
This is what I am thinking:

BAHA = Advantages LESS INVASIVE, MORE SECURE AND CONNECTED DIRECTLY TO IMPLANT, MORE RESEARCH/HISTORY ETC. 
Disadvantages PERMANENT PROTUSION, CATCHING ON THINGS? WASHING HAIR ETC HAIR LOSS AROUND IT, SKIN GROWING OVER, INFECTION.

BONEBRIDGE IMPLANT = Advantages HIDDEN, NEW TECHNOLOGY????
Disadvantages = MORE INVASIVE SURGERY, NEW DEVICE LESS RESEARCH KNOWN??? MAGNECTIC CONNECTION, STRONG ENOUGH?? STAY IN PLACE? HEADACHES

If anyone could help with their experience/knowledge I would be really grateful!

Thanks heaps x

Thanks Adam for your welcoming. Its a bit of a new world for me and wants to understand more before i commit to surgery etc.

Take care

Alex

• HearPeers Heroes