Sonnet 2 and Audiolink interaction

Smileydent

GM:  I am new to Hearpeers, so I will try to explain my difficulty.  My left ear has been completely dead for 30 yrs and I had a CI placed in my failing right ear about 12 yrs ago.  I do pretty well but….as with others, I still struggle with a noisy background situation.  Anyway, I started with the Opus 2 system and have recently upgraded to the Sonnet 2 system.  Due to the upgrade, I now have an Audiolink which can aid me greatly in telephone usage.  However, a nagging problem has developed.  Due to the “power hungry” nature of the Audiolink device, I am struggling with which batteries to use.  If I use the disposables, I find that when I receive a phone call, ( unless my disposables are fresh out of the box), after about 15 seconds into the call, my processor starts to beep…..I have to apologize to the caller, take their phone number, hang up, change to a rechargeable battery and call them back. This is a pain.

If by chance, I have a rechargeable in place…..unless the rechargeable is fully charged…..I can get about half way through my phone conversation and the beeping begins. Then I have to go through the same steps and call the individual back.

To me, it appears that the Sonnet is underpowered to be effectively used with the Audiolink system….IMHO.  When MEDEL switched years ago from the 3 battery tray in my Opus system to the two battery tray in my Sonnet, I was immediately concerned about the loss of power.  To this time, I have no problems with the new Sonnet system.  The only difficulty is when I use the Audiolink.

So…..my question…..has anyone else experienced a similar situation to mine with the Audiolink?  I would appreciate any comments/ solutions/ suggestions any readers might have. Thanks

Smileydent

• HearPeers Heroes

@Smileydent

Welcome to HearPeers!

I also started with OPUS2 and now have Sonnet.