Don

donniemc

Hello to all. Just found this forum and appreciate all the input. I have had 8 years of implant experience and the main issue I’ve had is perspiration leaking into the battery compartment. I’ve had the Rondo 1, the Opus 2 and the Sonnet 2. Due to the problems, I am switching to the Rondo 3 and I am glad to hear the battery life is a good bit longer than my previous experiences. The Opis was a good 12 hours but the sonnets were only 7 hours. Not good for my type of work. One thing that I believe needs attention with MedEl is having to have a separate device hanging around your neck for Bluetooth. Even the cell companies have technology that goes from the phone directly to a hearing aid. Any thoughts on this? Looking forward to receiving my Rondo 3s soon. 

• HearPeers Heroes

@donniemc

Welcome to HearPeers!

I love the AudioStream BTLE receiver for direct streaming of phone and tablet audio to Sonnet and Sonnet2.  Have you tried that with your Sonnet2 yet?  Sounds amazing.  No extra devices needed. And for bilateral Sonnet/Sonnet2 users it is true stereo for instrumentals.

@donniemcI'm starting to sound like an old drum, but Rondo 3 for all its qualities has the same fundamental weakness of Med-El's streaming concept. What @MaryBeth mentions regarding Sonnet and Sonnet 2 doesn't work with Rondo: you will be stuck with an Audiolink around your neck if you want to use a telephone directly into your ear. We live in hope that Med-El catches up.

I'm averaging 17 -18 hours of battery life on a Rondo 3  but it does drop if you have Audiolink and AudioEar connected all the time.

• HearPeers Heroes

@David

For my Sonnets, I like both the AudioStream and Artone.

For audio quality and for music, I prefer the AudioStream.

For truly hands free phone calls, the ability to listen to streamed audio only (100/0 mix) and the ability to connect to a wider range of BT devices, I prefer the Artone.

53 minutes ago, donniemc said: