Hello, I'm new to all this

Lilly2

Hello,

I am  50 and very new to all this. I  went suddenly and profoundly deaf in my left ear about four months ago and experienced rather dramatic vertigo at the same time, for which I was hospitalized. Happily I am back on two feet and the world is stable again! I am also back doing the job I love and I am grateful to have great support from my audiologist. I feel positive and open to anything that will help and  am currently trialing a cross system hearing aid, which has helped, but I work in an environment with a lot of talking and hearing voices against background noise remains a challenge, not insurmountable, but a challenge none the less. My ENT has said that I would be able to have a cochlea implant and I am excited that this is an option. I would therefore like to know more about the procedure, costs and the benefits from people who have experienced this first hand. I understand that I will get between 40 and 50  percent of my hearing back, but I wondered about the quality, efficacy and longevity of a cochlea implant, and if this procedure is worth it. I understand too that everybody's experience is unique, but I would appreciate any positive but realistic sharing of advice and any things that I should look out for.  
Lilly

• HearPeers Heroes

Hello Lily,

Welcome to the Hearpeers :)

At the present, we do not have any member which has experienced unilateral sudden sensorineural deafness but there were few members who come and go. Last it was Wynden Royalty (maybe I mispelled her name for a letter or two - pardon me, I am rewriting this from my memory).

However, there are 2 ways for helping people with your condition: a) a cochlear implant, B) bone conduction implant. A means that all the game is in rehabilitation of the affected cochlea, B means that all sound are conduct into the second ear.