PROBLEMS???

KENSEI

Hi all, I am new here, call me KENSEI. I've HAD 4 IMPLANTS...Advanced Bionics (1), COCHLEAR AMERICA (3), ALL of which failed. I had the CA 1500 series, which was recalled after 1 1/2 yrs. The replacement was the FREEDOM NUCLEUS, which actually fell apart in my head, exposing an electrode thru my skin. For 7 months, I experienced extreme pain & nerve damage. Hesitantly, I am going to try 1 more implant, the MAESTRO, because of what I've read about it. My question is: has anybody experienced any problems such as unclear noisy sound, trouble hearing music, phone, TV, etc? Also, does ANYBODY know a GOOD attorney that represents cochlear implant failures? I've called over 3 dozen law firms & cannot find an atty to represent me. I am deathly afraid to try another implant, but I am a professional musician & suddenly going deaf was like my life was over. Does anyone have any suggestions? How good is MED-AL? Are they a good, reliable company? PLEASE...I REALLY NEED HELP. Thank You.

ARIGATO,

KENSEI

PS: FEEL FREE TO E-MAIL ME AT:  kensei-san@hotmail.com

Walter:

Welcome to Med-El site. I am so sorry that you are having such a difficult time with the implants and I don't blame you for being terrified and scared about getting a Med-El. I was just implanted with a Med-El March 5th and I will be activated March 27th (Wednesday). I'm not a musician but my late father was a professional violinist for over 50 years!

I grew up listening to classical music, going to his concerts and hearing his students on Monday nights as well as the quartets that would gather at our house, I loved nothing more than music and when my own hearing started failing I felt fortunate enough to still be able to hear the violins. Now I can't hear them or classical music and I'm counting down the days and months until I can hear them again. Ironically, my hearing go worse around the time that my dad passed away from Esophageal Cancer 7 years ago.