Introducing myself

Douglas Jones

Hello my name is Doug and i was just inform that i am a canidate for a implant i am a musician seen still have some low frequency i was told having a implant could take away that because it different with implants so that mean i will not here my guitar anymore is this true???

• HearPeers Heroes

Some CI users retain their low frequency hearing after surgery and some lose their low frequency hearing after surgery.  There are several factors involved including but not limited to: surgeon technique, ability to insert electrode array through the round window versus drilling through the cochlea, amount of pre-surgery low frequency hearing......

That being said, I have no residual hearing in either ear.  I enjoy listening to guitar with my CIs.  I hear bass sounds very well.  My CIs have enabled me to return to playing the piano.  It has been amazing.

Wishing you the best.

18 hours ago, Mary Beth said:

Some CI users retain their low frequency hearing after surgery and some lose their low frequency hearing after surgery.  There are several factors involved including but not limited to: surgeon technique, ability to insert electrode array through the round window versus drilling through the cochlea, amount of pre-surgery low frequency hearing......

That being said, I have no residual hearing in either ear.  I enjoy listening to guitar with my CIs.  I hear bass sounds very well.  My CIs have enabled me to return to playing the piano.  It has been amazing.

Wishing you the best.

Wow thank you so much!! I know it gonna take some getting use to but i will suceed!!!

• HearPeers Heroes

Douglas,

You have the right attitude and it will help you on this journey.  Just keep on listening and training and appreciating everything you hear after activation.  It gets better and better.  Our brains do an amazing job with the input from our amazing CIs.  They just need a chance to figure the signals out.

• Like 1

2 minutes ago, Mary Beth said: