Oops. I forgot to plan for rehabilitation

Leslie05

Hello everyone! 

I'm not quite sure how I got here but somehow I was so focused on saying yes to the implant that I forgot to plan for after. 

I lost my hearing in my left ear almost 3 years ago in December. My implant was implanted May 31 and my processor fitted June 5. Since then I have wrapped up a school year, graduated a son from high school, and gone out of the country with family to celebrate my dad's 80th birthday. I have been wearing my Rondo (Synchrony) as much as possible but I need to line up a speech therapist for rehabilitation.

So far my only rehabilitation has been talking to myself and practicing with ReDi on my own. With ReDi, I can't tell if I am hearing with my good ear or not. I wear a earplug when I practice to limit it but sometimes I feel like I am only learning to compensate. Tips for practice?

Other ideas for single-sided recovery? 

Any recommendations for building community?

Leslie

Seattle WA

• HearPeers Heroes

Congratulations @Leslie05 and welcome!

If you are willing to wake up early you can join us in our HearPeers GoogleMeet.  Link is below.

Rondo 3 has two Med-El ways to deliver audio only to the processor so the other ear can not help.  AudioLink or the new just released AudioStream adapter.  Streaming directly to the Rondo will be best for training so your acoustic ear can not assist.

We have a section here called REHAB and it is full of helpful information.  Check it out.

• Members

@Leslie05 - Welcome to Hearpeers!  I was just in Seattle last weekend for a one day conference.  I'm down the road in Portland.  I'm going to try organizing an "in-person" get together for some Pacific Northwest people.  Maybe in September or November?  If you make it down to Portland, let me know.

------------------------------------

I'll give my random rehab advice as a fellow SSD user.

Audiostream BT streaming makes practice SO much easier.