Hello from Vancouver BC :)

MCL

Hi Everyone,

I joined this group as I’m in the referral process of getting a CI. My hearing was perfect up until I developed mononucleosis in June 2015. From then on I developed tinnitus, bilateral vestibular loss and pretty rapidly progressive hearing loss. My hearing used to improve with steroids, but the steroids have lost their impact now. I’m complete deaf in the left ear since May 2018 and now have severe-profound hearing in my right ear until 1000Hz and then it goes to nothing. I have a Phonak Naida UP, but it just allows me to hear sounds now, not speech. 

I am an ER nurse on medical leave due to my rapid hearing loss. I also have three boys: 9, 5, & 3 years old who know how to take advantage of Mommy’s hearing loss. So far no fires, but they have made some smoothies and eaten a large amount of marshmallows, all because I was in the other room and they knew I couldn’t hear!

In Vancouver, we can choose between MedEL and Cochlear. I am hoping to partake in the Johns Hopkins Vestibular Implant Trial, which is like a cochlear implant that also threads the semicircular canals in hopes of restoring vestibular function. They happen to be using MedEL, which is further persuading me towards choosing MedEL. I also like that the phonak roger pen and hopefully select can be used with the processors, although that part seems very confusing on the Medel website. 

Looking forward to learning more about MedEL.

Cheers!

Natalie 

• HearPeers Heroes

Welcome @NurseNavyNat (Canada)!

First of all I must tell you that we LOVE Vancouver!  So beautiful.  Such a great walking city.  

I am sorry to hear of your hearing loss progression.  I had progressive hearing loss too starting at age 13.  Not a fun ride at all.