2nd CI

Anita C.

I had my 2nd CI surgery on Tuesday, March 19 on my left side.. The surgery went well with no dizziness or nausea at all this time. I had my first CI surgery in August of 2017. It has been a really exciting adventure. However, now  I'm having a really difficult time hearing with just the CI on my right side. Sounds are distorted, I can't tell where they come from and noise in a restaurant or any kind of noisy setting drives me nuts. My activation date is Wednesday, April 3. I'm wondering what kind of experiences others have had after their second surgery? Is part of it just having hearing on one side? I'd appreciate hearing about the experiences of others.

Thanks -

Anita C.

• HearPeers Heroes

@Anita C.

Congratulations on your second CI!  Bilateral CIs are awesome.

It takes awhile to train each CI separately for speech and together for speech.  Check out our REHAB topic for great suggestions.

I had been using only my first CI for a few months before the second CI surgery so I did not experience a decrease in listening ability while awaiting the second CI surgery.  After my second CI was activated, listening temporarily got more difficult while my second side was settling in.  Once it clicked, things took off and got so much better than listening with one CI.  It was a journey and I benefited from working on aural rehab every day.

Hang in there.  Things will get better.  Meanwhile when you feel up to it, you can work on some aural rehab on your first side to make listening easier for you.  It really pays off.

Wishing you the best!

On 3/23/2019 at 5:05 PM, Mary Beth said:

@Anita C.

Congratulations on your second CI!  Bilateral CIs are awesome.

It takes awhile to train each CI separately for speech and together for speech.  Check out our REHAB topic for great suggestions.