How to choose CI brand

EvaD

I am meeting with a surgeon next week to discuss a possible CI bimodal. I understand that the choice of device from 3 manufacturers may be mine. I am not an engineer or ENT and not qualified to choose an implant based on specifications, success, and reliability. I have looked at the comparison chart but without much knowledge. I am assuming if the choice is mine there cannot be much difference in performance or the surgeon would certainly recommend one. So I'm assuming that the choice is based more on features of the processor. Would you folks agree with that? I realize this is a Med-El forum but I will ask this question on the AB forum as well. I have not been able to find a Cochlear forum.

Based on features alone I do like the AB features. I am a 5 year user of the Roger Pen which has helped me in some situations. My current hearing aids are Phonak Brio (Costco) PuP. They are powerful but I am maxed out on them. I have Roger receivers on each HA. I have worn hearing aids for 25 years, a number of different brands. The 2 sets of Phonaks I have had have been the best. The only ones I returned as being unacceptable after many adjustments were Resound. Cochlear pairs with Resound which is a point against Cochlear for me. However, that was 5 years ago and Resound may be better now. Med-El does not pair with a HA so I could choose a new Phonak HA for a bimodal system.

So am I thinking that features are the reason for choosing one brand over another if the surgeon asks for my choice? This active forum is another good feature.
Thanks, Eva

• HearPeers Heroes

@EvaD

Its an exciting time for you!  Wishing you the very best!

I looked at electrode arrays.  Long arrays to stimulate more of my cochleas to deliver better pitches for music.  Music is important to me.

Med-El works with the Roger System too.

Choose what is right for you.  It is an amazing journey!

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi @EvaD

Exciting times ahead!