New Bonebridge Activation - sound quality and echoing?

Ashley

Hi all -

I wanted to see if what I am experiencing is normal or if you had any advice for me.

I got my Samba processor activated today for my BoneBridge device - exciting!  I have single-sided (left side) conductive hearing loss, so have one 'good' ear to compare sound quality to.

That being said, after a long appointment adjusting the settings of the processor, I feel as if the sound quality is still far from natural.  It sounds as if I'm hearing through a microphone or megaphone, with an echo-y quality of hearing something over loudspeakers like over an airplane announcement.  It may be that I'm comparing it to my 'good' side, but I wanted to see what I could expect over time, if I may adjust to the quality more.  I have a followup to readjust settings in a few weeks, but would move that sooner if it's just not improving.

I hear a lot of background noise as well, which feels very distracting - especially driving home in the car it sounded very static-y and loud.  

Any advice or guidance on expectations for adjusting to the device?

Thanks!

Hi Ashley,

The good news is that you are hearing on both sides! I found that, after activation, my world was loud! I found that I had to turn down the volume and I was constantly trying the different settings.  After a few days I found settings that worked. The processor sound is different. I initially found the processor sound to be digital/sharp whereas my good ear sound was more mellow/warm.  If found that these differences were a useful method to 'locate' sound. In my experience, it took a few months of 'learning how to hear' from my right side. It has been a most exciting journey. 

That said, it sounds like another visit with your audio will be useful. It may be helpful to explain what you are hearing for specific situations.  I am sure that some fine tuning will be most useful.

Good luck!

-Ross

• Like 2

@bluesidae

Ross,