Newbie Here

moonunit0103

Hi,

I am a 62 year man who has a hearing loss from Scarlet Fever when I was 2 years old.  I have been approved for a cochlear implant, but found behind the ear hearing aids uncomfortable.  Would prefer the Rondo 3 to the behind the ear processor.

Can I get Rondo 3s instead of a behind the ear processor and a Rondo 3?

• HearPeers Heroes

@moonunit0103

Yes.  We can choose which processors we want in the US.  If you go to a two processor CI center (2 processors per surgery), you can choose two Sonnet 2, two Rondo 3 or one of each.

I have become a big fan of the Rondo processors.

I have read the Rondo 2 processors have a tendency to fall off.  Are there workarounds for this?

Another question, I have had dropoff around 1000Hz and above.  Many sounds I cannot hear at all currently, which is mostly nuisance noise.

Will it be overwhelming once I am activated?

• HearPeers Heroes

@moonunit0103

My Rondo processors have never just fallen off.  I have knocked them off a few times.  Secure lines prevent them from falling to the floor.

There are various magnet strengths.  And there is also the GripWear adhesive piece that may be used to increase holding power.

Using my Rondos during this time of face masks has been wonderful!

• Like 1

Once I get my second CI, is there a clip that could attach the two together?

Do people wear sweatbands or hats to conceal them?

Is it better to keep the attachment point hair shaved or short for better retention?

• HearPeers Heroes

@moonunit0103

Yes there are clips that can secure both Rondo processors to your shirt.  I use it when I put my Rondos in waterwear covers and swim in the ocean.

I just wear the Rondos without a headband.  They can blend into hair or stand out depending on which covers you choose.

I part my hair and place the Rondos underneath.  I do not need to do anything special to that area or to my hair.  Some people wear the Rondos on top of their hair.

• Like 1