CI after Ponto

Lora

Good morning.  This is my first post in your forum.  I appreciate your commitment to help others! 

I am 54 and considering options for my SSD (right ear deaf).  My deafness is from Meniere's disease treatment from 19990-2000 and my ear has not been functional since then.  I was fitted with a Ponto Pro in 2012 and it works sort-of-well.  I am a highly functioning person who works full time and sound localization and hearing fatigue are my main problems.  The best way to describe it to others with no hearing difficulty is that I spend A LOT of daily energy trying to hear.  I feel like there must be other hearing options that could better optimize my hearing. 

I am wondering if CI would help me.  I believe a CI might work better than the BAHA from a localization standpoint and understand it takes time and rehab to realize the full potential.  I am hoping someone can speak to these questions:

1.  I am a surgeon and one of the problems with the BAHA is that it when I wear my surgical headlight there is consistent feedback.  To address this I was recently fitted with a BICROS (I was told I have "slight" hearing decrease in my good left ear).  In the OR I now wear the BICROS and this solves the headlight issue but my hearing is much worse with the BICROS and still doesn't fix the localization problem.  I suspect the "slight" hearing loss in my good ear is not really that bad and having a mass object in my good ear worsens my hearing overall. 

2. When something is placed over a cochlear implant (like my surgical headlight headband) does it interfere/feedback?  Or when long hair sweeps over the CI does it "swish" like a regular hearing aid?

3.  Is it possible to have CI surgery after a BAHA?  (I'm no ENT surgeon so I have no idea!)

I am doing my due diligence to get advice from patient experts.  Thank you so very much for your feedback.

Lora

• HearPeers Heroes

@Lora

Welcome to HearPeers!