Autophony and other sounds before activation

Leah

Hi, I had been using hearing aids for about 3 years and was having problems with dizzy ness and unsteadiness walking. Primary care doc sent me to a neurologist, my eye doctor to see if it was my glasses and then to an ENT and Audiologist. That is when I found out my left ear was so bad they said I might as well stop using the left hearing aid. I was surprised because I didn't even realize the left ear was that bad.  Then October 5, between 11 AM and 3 PM I lost the hearing in my right ear. Seventy to 80db down in the low frequencies and too high to measure at the highest frequencies.   I had 10 days of oral steroids, but no improvement. Then injected steroids and an MRI.l  The steroids did nothing.  The MRI did not show why I had the sudden hearing loss, but it did show an acoustic nuroma in the left ear. Chance of a sudden hearing loss is something like 5 to 20 out of 100,000. Chance of acoustic nuroma is 1 out of 100,000 and I got BOTH.  Today I have had CI surgery and am 2 weeks away from activation, and I am still dizzy and using a cane. That is my story.