WOW moments from this month

Mary Beth

• HearPeers Heroes

Hello HearPeers!

I love reading about CI WOW moments from new CI users as well as established CI users.

What have been some of your WOW moments recently?

• Like 1

• HearPeers Heroes

I have been using CIs for six years already.  Time flies!

Recent WOW moments for me;

-identifying the direction of loud firecrackers even though at first family members had difficulty knowing where the sounds came from

-hearing well with Rondos in waterwear under a Nammucap during eye surgeries 

• Like 4

@Mary Beth Been on my CI journey for seven years now and it amazes me that WOW moments continue to happen!

My most recent…thought I had lost a small earring, then later changed my shirt. Although I didn’t see or feel it, I actually heard the earring when it fell from my shirt and landed on the carpet! Love my CIs!😊

• Like 7

• HearPeers Heroes

I wore my Audiostream all day while running errands and food shopping today. I enjoyed listening to podcasts and understanding the vast majority of the dialogue! It feels like 'free' rehab time 🐵

I'm still super new to my CI but my first WOW moment was literally after my audiologist put my Sonnet 2 processor on and I realized that I couldn't hear my tinnitus. Considering how much depression it caused me for nearly four years I am pretty sure it goes way beyond WOW! It's so nice to have something to feel so grateful for each and every day. My 2nd WOW moment came when I realized I could localize sound and especially when I am working this makes me much calmer as my brain doesn't have to frantically scan to "find" where sound comes from and honestly if I can't figure out where the sound is coming from I'm not worried about it. Maybe 2 months after activation my next WOW moment came when streaming to my CI and I realized that I could hear people's accents especially for example someone from the UK, etc. I look forward to a new WOW moment soon!