Sonnet 2 versus Rondo 3

Sharon Penney

Hi I am from Burlington Ontario and have been newly implanted with a Cochlear implant. I have to choose between the Sonnet2 and the Rondo 3 and am curious to hear from others who have had similar choices and whether you are happy with your selection. Also if you opted for the Sonnet2 did you choose the rechargeable batteries or disposable batteries. So many decisions to make and so little time.....

Hi sharon. I have a sonnet 2 eas and i have both rechargable batteries and disposable. I received them with my kit. I also have audiolink which i use for streaming and tv. I also have audiostream. Im still learning how to use it all, im very happy with sonnet 2 eas but i have some residual hearing so the eas setup gives me electronic and acoustic. Ive used it a little over one month and very happy with it. I do not have rondo 3 others here can share im sure.

• HearPeers Heroes

I prefer disposable batteries with my Sonnets.  If you plan on streaming with the AudioStream battery cover, disposable batteries are recommended by Med-El .  I use Power One Implant batteries.  They work great.

Sharon,  

I've been using both a Sonnet 2 and the Rondo 3 for nearly 2 years now. I really like both but I'd suggest if you have to pick one go with the Sonnet 2. 

The Sonnet 2 I believe provides more options and functionality with regard to the algorithms that you can cycle through to try enhance the capability based on the level of ambient noise etc. Another thing I do like about the Sonnet 2 is that since it does hook on your ear there is a bit more safety should you bump the coil off of your head. I've accidently sent my Rondo flying a couple times and was glad it did not land in the grass. If you brush the Sonnet 2 coil off of your head it is still hooked to your ear.