Considering CI - Looking to Connect with Similar Patients

Kristi

Hello,

I am currently considering cochlear implantation and am hoping to talk with some people with similar histories.  I am currently in my 40's and have bilateral sensorineural hearing loss , sloping from moderate to profound.  I have had lifelong hearing loss, but didn't get hearing aids until college.  Since that time, I have had gradual progressive loss, to the point that I have recently been told that I qualify for CIs due to my speech discrimination falling to about 50%.  I currently have an Esteem implanted hearing aid on one ear and a traditional aid on the other.  As I have some (albeit poor) hearing capacity, I am concerned about losing my residual hearing,  as well as the possibility of not responding well to the CI and ending up worse (or no better) with regard to clarity of speech, etc.  I also work in the medical field, and have questions about the recovery process, if/when to expect to be able to return to work, etc.  I am hoping to connect with some of you who have gone through the CI process under similar circumstances.  I am just at the very beginning of this process - my initial consult with a surgeon hasn't even occurred yet, but I want to gather as much information as I can before making a decision.  

• HearPeers Heroes

@Kristi

Welcome to HearPeers.  We are a friendly group.  Feel free to ask questions.

I have shared my CI story and CI + music story online.  I’ll give you a link in case you are interested.  Feel free to ask questions.

wishing you the best!