CI surgery scheduled mid-May

Heather W

Hello! New to this site. I’m a 49yo female in NC. I’m scheduled for CI surgery on my left ear in mid-May with UNC. I started losing my hearing in my late 30’s, been using Phonak hearing aids for 8-9 years with a noticeable decline in my hearing each year. My left ear is severe to profound loss now, sound very distorted and word recognition is 0%. Right is a little better (moderate to profound). I’m a working professional and unfortunately a recent widow. I’m having to decide between Med-El and Advanced Bionics CI. I’m leaning towards Med-El due to what appears to be the best cochlear coverage for range of sound as well as hardware options. 
I have many questions, but will limit them to just a few for this post. 
1. How was surgery recovery? Thoughts on time off from work which involves a mix of home office and daytime travel to various on site locations. 
2. Any bimodal folks that can comment on how Med-El CI works with a hearing aid in the other ear? I currently stream TV, music and some phone calls to my HA now. 
3. How was hearing adjustment after CI activation?

Thanks and I look forward to being a part of this community. 
Heather