Hello everyone.

MUrdock Rydhian

Hello everyone. My name is Murdock. Rydhian I am writing to you from Bucaramanga, Colombia, South America. I am a candidate for a cochlear implant. I suffer from profound bilateral mixed hearing loss. The surgery will be done in two weeks. cochlear implant is something that I have always waited for and the wait seems eternal. I hope to be able to exchange sensations with each one of you and I will tell you how I feel day by day, see you soon!

I am being evaluated for Cochlear implants. My hearing loss has become more profound. Recently I was at a dinner with old friends and couldn't understand most of the conversations. I was the head of a business meeting and was repeatedly frustrated having to have people repeat themselves. I felt like the town moron. I am a retired physician but I still volunteer. The most important tool I have is my ability to take a history. I often find it very difficult to communicate. Especially with those people outside of my hearing envelop.  have isolated myself. Avoided conferences, dinner parties and family events. I am hoping the implant will change this your experience would help me make my decision.

• Like 1

• HearPeers Heroes

@Gerald

I remember clearly how small my world had become.  These CIs have been life changing.  I shared my story in this captioned video.

We are a friendly group.  Feel free to ask questions.  Wishing you the best.

Hi gerald, i too either avoided, or got a sore neck from nodding when hearing aids were just not enough. I had 50 percent loss in both ears. When my implant was activated i quickly went to 80 percent understanding after activation. I may still sit in the background, marvelling in what i could hear instead of NOT hearing, so now, 6 months later, i can participate in so many more conversations than prior to implant. Im excitedly awaiting a new hearing aid for the unimplanted ear so i can get to hearing all around me.