Why I chose Med El. Finally a candidate!

SarahDunlap

Hi, all! I found this forum through hearingtracker.com and am so happy I stumbled on it. I look forward to reading about your hearing journeys and what I can expect as I move closer to surgery (July 1st) and then finally, activation day! (~4 wks)

Why I chose Med El and my story-

I am 41 years old, female, athletic, but also have some brain injury which may or may not have something to do with the severe to profound hearing loss that I experience in both ears. My right ear is moderate to severe, drops into profound at the highest frequencies, while my left just recently dropped into profound range with 0% word recognition.  I have been learning about CI's since 2019, first with Cochlear Americas. I had some great initial support from them but I still was pretty far away from candidacy (even though everyone working in CI field took one look at my audiogram and said I should be a candidate!) 

I was still getting help from HA's so I stayed the course but relocated my work to a warehouse type space and had to move to a more directional HA, which for me was the Phonak Marvel. This helped to not pick up sounds from above and all around me which made speech in noise a little easier. My hearing stayed the same for about a year or two and then suddenly and dramatically dropped mostly on my left side, but my right dropped some as well.