from Osia to Bonebridge?

Maud

Hello,

I have been wearing a BAHA for nearly 15 years, and I have 9 months of experience using the OSIA system before the implant was extracted due to skin retractation leaving the implant visible. Meanwhile I had a series of painful infections remediated with antibiotics. I am now considering a MEDEL Bonebridge implant.

Below is a background of my journey with the OSIA

While the audiologist where I lived had mentioned that I had the choice between MEDEL Bonebridge and COCHLEAR OSIA; the hospital I was allocated to after moving to a new region did not provide me with a choice, only the OSIA system. I mistakenly thought that the OSIA was chosen because I had advocated the need to use the processor in water (mom of 2/water safety), and I knew the OSIA could be worn with a water kit. I was given no medical nor technical information about the OSIA, except that there would be “a little bump” under the skin (I thought it would be where the magnet is located!). I then received a letter with an operation date.

The OSIA adventure came with many shocks.

The implant was protruding much more than I had been prepared for (the audiologist had shown me a mannequin head with the Medel Bonebridge which provides a ‘flat surface’, something that I had remembered!).

The OSIA implant had been placed too close to the ear with a stretched-out skin that created an unreachable and unmanageable crater, perfect for infections.

Two days after activation with the processor, I thought that the processor was defective when it stopped working. I replaced the battery and carried on. Again, the same story. After visiting the OSIA FB group, I discovered that the battery lasted on average 2 days. The water kit for the OSIA allows the processor to function…an hour! Pretty useless in my opinion.

A slight bumping om the protruding OSIA implant when, for example cuddling with/carrying my child, was very painful.