Greetings all!

Roy

I'm a bilateral implantee with no residual natural hearing. My surgeries were in 2013 and 2014. I use Rondo 3s most of the time and Sonnet 2s for things that need direct connection or benefit from their different frequency spectrum. I also have legacy Rondo 1s that I use during workouts. 

I'm a fairly serious amateur musician and luthier, and I'm finding that my musical experience with CIs continues to improve even nine years in. I'm also somewhat of a sound-gear junkie; I've got a professional-grade PA system and some other audio equipment that works well with my processors. 

I've browsed this forum from time to time, usually to learn about the advantages and limitations of new processors or assistive gear, and I should have joined long ago as a member and participant. So, hi, everybody! I'm looking forward both to learning and to sharing whatever I have that might be useful.

Best regards, Roy

Hi Roy, its encouraging to hear that sound can continue to improve, even after 9 years! I am curious if you are referring to music played through typical home speakers or streamed through a phone. Are you able to go to concerts? I am 3 months post-op and have found some decent success with streaming. I can distinguish lyrics fairly well, although the overall sound is scratchy. With music played through speakers, whether at home or in a car, the sound is pretty poor. I am hoping this will get better, just wondering if this just improves over time. I am implanted on one side and have no residual hearing on either side. My overall experience so far is nothing short of amazing. Understanding speech, especially in the right environments is excellent, which is the biggest priority. Enjoying music again would just be a home run!

• HearPeers Heroes

@Mike F