Hello, I'm new to all this

Lilly2

Hello,

I am  50 and very new to all this. I  went suddenly and profoundly deaf in my left ear about four months ago and experienced rather dramatic vertigo at the same time, for which I was hospitalized. Happily I am back on two feet and the world is stable again! I am also back doing the job I love and I am grateful to have great support from my audiologist. I feel positive and open to anything that will help and  am currently trialing a cross system hearing aid, which has helped, but I work in an environment with a lot of talking and hearing voices against background noise remains a challenge, not insurmountable, but a challenge none the less. My ENT has said that I would be able to have a cochlea implant and I am excited that this is an option. I would therefore like to know more about the procedure, costs and the benefits from people who have experienced this first hand. I understand that I will get between 40 and 50  percent of my hearing back, but I wondered about the quality, efficacy and longevity of a cochlea implant, and if this procedure is worth it. I understand too that everybody's experience is unique, but I would appreciate any positive but realistic sharing of advice and any things that I should look out for.  
Lilly

• Like 1

• HearPeers Heroes

Hello Lilly and welcome!

I received my first CI one year ago and my second CI 4 months ago. They have changed my life. I can hear on any phone, listen to audiobooks and enjoy music. I hope your hearing journey is as wonderful as mine has been. Welcome.

• HearPeers Heroes