The period before activation

Hila

How did everyone deal with life during the time after surgery and before activation? I have a feeling it's going to be long four weeks. I'll be without hearing aid on the implanted side and I feel it's going to be very difficult. Can anyone share thoughts or experiences? Thanks

• HearPeers Heroes

Time after surgery and before activation for my first CI, sounded no different to me because my right ear had not been processing any sound for 24 years. I was eager to get activated and very curious about what everything would sound like so I busied myself getting ready for auditory training.

Time after surgery and before activation for my second CI did sound different in a way as I no longer heard anything when my CI was removed. But I had been functioning with one CI for several months by then since my HA was of little help so speech sounded the same to me.

Rest up. Once you are activated, you will be very busy!

• HearPeers Heroes

I would say that it was a bit difficult for me. It was four weeks before my activation. I couldn't hear well. My surgery had some unexpected complications so I was actually on bed rest for the first two weeks. So I didn't do much or go very far without someone. I really relied on lip reading and avoided strangers. But afterwords was so awesome that I can't really explain it fully!! So rest up and be patient for the ear to heal. Best if luck!!

• HearPeers Heroes

I never found much difference before activation as I heard very little before surgery. As the others have said, rest up because once you are activated, you will be busy. Keep us posted.

• HearPeers Heroes

:)