Frustrated CI user

aloha_lrf

My name is Lucy and I am new to this blog. I am 57 years old and I have sudden hearing loss (right ear) in 2014. My doctors cannot find the cause of the hearing loss. I am also partially deaf (62% hearing with high frequency hearing loss) on my left ear. I initially used bi-cross hearing aid but this doesn't help at all; I can barely understand words and I cannot pick up conversations. Thus, I decided to have CI surgery last year on July 13 and my device was activated on August 17th. I am now a sonnet and rondo user that I interchangeably use.

I am writing in this blog to get feedback from Med El and all sonnet/rondo users because I am really frustrated with my CI. It's almost 8-months since my CI was activated but I still cannot understand words clearly. As soon as I put my processor, I hear whirring sound; I referred to it as miniature Cessna plane that had been accidentally implanted in my brain when I have my CI surgery. Does anybody have an experience like this? I live alone so my self therapy is the TV and using AngelSound; but nothing's helps to understand the words clearly because words are still very crackling and it sounds gibberish.

Louise from Med El adjusted my CI twice last year (never seen her again since then); my audiologist keeps tweaking and adjusting my CI but to no avail (3x this year). I NEED YOUR HELP!!!! Does any one out there had an experience like this? How long does it take before I can pick up clear words. My otologist said last week that I should have been able to hear clearer words by now! Dr. Hadley (otologist) said he will contact a Med El rep for me. Shouldn't my audiologist did this because I keep on telling her that words are still not clear? How does CI adjustment process normally go?