Using a very old MRI?

Tim

• Members

Just curious whether standard practice is to get updated MRIs before implant selection?  I had my first and only MRI 16 years ago to rule out an acoustic neuroma for my SSD.  The surgeon hasn't seen the old MRI yet but thinks this would likely be sufficient to review and is not planning on ordering another MRI.

It has been a long road but I finally have insurance approval and have a surgery scheduled for January.

Is cochlear anatomy stable enough that a very old MRI is able to answer the needed questions?  Also seems odd when I also have a bone conduction abutment to work around. 

I’m no expert on this but I’m under the impression that, even though MRIs are possible with MED-EL implants, that the magnets interfere with imaging over a radius of several centimeters, which includes much of the brain. If I’m right about this and you’d like a current MRI of your head, I’d suggest doing it.

• Members

Thanks.  I don't have a cochlear implant yet so I don't have to worry about MRI restrictions or being blocked by the metal.  I was actually asking if surgeons are likely to find a very old MRI sufficient to tell about anatomical restrictions that might affect an implant choice.  I was a little surprised that they didn't want a new one.  

You are correct, Ray. I've have bilateral Synchrony implants, received a brain MRI and the magnets interfered with the images. The medical term is artifact.

Tim — I misunderstood. I was thinking you were considering a brain MRI for some other reason while it was still possible. I am a bit surprised your surgeon wouldn’t want a more recent one, but I assume there’s a solid reason why it’s not needed. 

FWIW, the University of North Carolina Hospital used a pre-op CT scan rather than an MRI for my surgery. They used the same image for both sides, 14 months apart.

• 2 months later...
  • Members

Just to get closure on the thread, my doctor decided to get a fresh CT scan.