Hello

TommyT

Hi folks, new user, be kind.

I live in NW England, had a CI about 18 months ago after many years of deterioriating hearing. Ended up with bac meningitis from the op but still rate it as probaby the best thing I have ever done.

I have a Med El implant and a Rondo processor which I love.

• HearPeers Heroes

Welcome! We ar a kind group, no worries. Sorry to read about your infection. Tell us a bit about how things are going for you with your CI.

I received my first CI 15 months ago and my second CI 7 months ago. I use Sonnets or Rondos. I love them both.

Really good, thanks. I was just below the threshold to qualify for years and really struggled. I'm a solicitor so made things very dificult. CI has made al the difference, even given me the impetus to go self employed. I can't use an ordinary phone (yet) but can Skype now and no longer have that dread of meeting new people in new environments - first meeting with a client who didn't know I was deaf often just left them thinking I was an idiot.

I don't fit the criteria for a second one on the NHS but would take one like a shot if it were ever offered.

• HearPeers Heroes

Great! I'm glad things are going so well for you.

• HearPeers Heroes

Welcome to Hearpeers. I'm glad everything is working out for you. I've had my CI for 3 years now and just love it. I still have not progressed to the telephone but everyone texts. I'm just starting to enjoy music. Today while taking a ride in my car, I had the stereo blaring and could understand most of the songs. Let us know if there is anything we can help you with. This is a great and supportive group of people.

• HearPeers Heroes

Glad to read about your music enjoyment Sandy

• HearPeers Heroes

Yay Sandy that's great news.