Asl

Arielle511

Does anyone here use ASL and is apart of the deaf and hearing world?

I studied some ASL in College, but unfortunately I did not keep up with it.

• HearPeers Heroes

I guess, at least Mary Beth use it as she is a teacher of deaf, and Adam who is, presently, overwhelmed with work... 

• HearPeers Heroes

Yes I am fluent in ASL and have Deaf friends who sign. Are you concerned about your plan to receive a CI and also remain a part of the Deaf community?

• HearPeers Heroes

Our friend in the Facebook group Seven and Constance are also ASL fluent.

Yes I am fluent in ASL and have Deaf friends who sign. Are you concerned about your plan to receive a CI and also remain a part of the Deaf community?

Yes most definitely. I sign and I'm going to school to be an interpreter but I don't was the CI to take me away from m deaf friends. I will still be deaf and being an interpreter will be my career but I still want to be in the deaf community for being deaf not an interpreter.

• HearPeers Heroes

I hear your struggle. Everyone's journey is different and although people tend to refer to the Deaf community as one entity, Deaf communities are also different. Some Deaf groups are very welcoming to Deaf CI users and others are not as welcoming. There is no single experience being Deaf. There are many ways of being Deaf. Have you seen the PBS documentary called, Through Deaf Eyes? I show that movie in my ASL II course at the university. It is a great compilation of the history of the Deaf community in the US over the past 200 years. There are many, many famous Deaf people in the movie and it shows all different ways of being Deaf. There is also a movie out that features a Deaf couple who decide to implant their Deaf child. Here's a link about this new movie: http://louderthanwordsfilm.com/about/