Hello

Lisabeth

Hi,

I am new to Hear Peers.  I got my Cochlear Implant in May of 2014 and have both the Med El Rondo and the Opus for my left ear.  I use the Rondo the most and am enjoying my new hearing.  I recently had a cold and have a problem that when I blow my nose the implant cuts out and sometimes stays out for 15 min.  Has anyone had this problem? 

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi Lisabeth,

Welcome and I am glad that you are enjoying your new hearing.  I was implanted in Feb 2015 and October 2015.  I am using Sonnets now but I use Rondos when I am in/near water and love them too.  I also have used an Opus2.  They are all great processors.

I have never experienced anything that causes my CI sound signal to cut out.  If it happened to me, I would schedule an appointment with my CI surgeon.  I hope you get this resolved soon.

Mary Beth

Hello Mary Beth,

It's nice to meet you.  I have spoken to both my CI surgeon and my Audiologist about the cut out and the both seem confused about what Is happening.  My surgeon thinks its an air bubble that gets in when I blow my nose.  His suggestion is to see my Audiologist when this happens so she can check to see if there is a change in the electrodes before and after I blow my nose.  Fortunately the implant has always come back on after it cuts out, but each time I worry that it will not.  Other than this problem, I absolutely love my implant!

I don't know anything about the Sonnet.  What do you like about it?  After years of wearing around the ear hearing aids, I love that now I have nothing around my ears with the Rondo. 

Lisabeth  

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi Lisabeth,

I have read online articles about air pockets caused by nose blowing and causing problems for CI users.  It seems to be a rather rare event.  That would make me anxious too.  I would probably try never to blow my nose again.  Smile.  Easier said, than done.