Question for bi-modal and maybe SSD patients

Heather W

Hello,

I am a newly implanted bi-modal user (bilateral progressive sensorineural loss).  I have been wearing HAs for 10 years.  HA in right still.  CI in left, activated 7 months ago and use Sonnet2 and Rondo3.  I have a question that I think is best suited for bimodal users and maybe for SSD patients.

I was told to expect 12-18 months to get adjusted to the CI and to get the full benefit.  I often hear other CI patients claim that the electronic/robot like sound through the CI fades over time and things sound "normal."  While I am continuing to make gains in my CI adjustment and with speech recognition, the CI side still sounds very unnatural, electronic and like a computer generated voice.  Environmental sounds also have a computer-generated sound quality.  Some speech sounds have a fuzzy, raspy or vibrating like quality to them.

I work very hard to articulate what my CI sounds like and the struggles I am having with my audi during mapping sessions, but I have not had much improvement.  I improved drastically with my speech recognition scores in the booth from activation to 4 months, but in real world testing, I feel like I am still struggling to understand speech unless I am in a quiet, library like environment as well as on the phone or during computer based calls/meetings at work.  

Are my expectations off?  Do I just need to be patient and give it time and practice? Or is the fact that I still hear "normally" in my other ear(though assisted by a HA), the reason that my CI will always sound drastically different?  Any mapping advice? My next CI audi appointment is in March. 

Thanks, Heather

Hi Heather,

It takes a mix of perseverance, patience, and practice.