Hello from St Stephen SC

Phillip

My name is Phillip, I'm new to hearpeers. Would like some input for my situation, I lost hearing suddenly in on my left side 10 yrs ago for no apparent reason. Approx 5 yrs ago the right side began to slowly decline. I am currently wearing bi cross hearing aids, which I am not very happy with. I filled out papers twice for cochlear to be tested but have not had the nerve to peruse the process. Just put the papers again yesterday. My guess is, I probably don't qualify.

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi Phillip,

Years ago I used bicros HAs too.  Then I switched to just wearing a top end HA on the side that was not yet deaf.  After that, as my hearing loss progressed even further, I explored CIs.

There is nothing to fear in starting to see I felt you qualify for a cochlear implant.  The process has many steps and you will just learn more about your hearing loss and cochlear implants along the way.  Then if you do qualify, you will still get to decide whether or not the timing is right for you.

I encourage you to go through the process.  Ask many questions.  Ask us too.  Whatever you decide, will be the right answer for you.  Best of luck.  And welcome to Hear Peers.

Welcome, Phillip!  Glad you have joined the group.