Introducing myself

Douglas Jones

Hello my name is Doug and i was just inform that i am a canidate for a implant i am a musician seen still have some low frequency i was told having a implant could take away that because it different with implants so that mean i will not here my guitar anymore is this true???

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi Doug, welcome here. I was lucky to keep my low frequencies after implantation. But if not, co will do it for us. I think it is a big chance that you will hear your guitar after implantation with the proper training. By the way, sound of guitar is more than low frequencies. So, hopefully, after you learn how to hear with ci, you will hear instruments even better than you can do it now. Good luck!

• Like 1

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi Douglas,

welcome to hearpeers! MEDEL is known for their atraumatic electrode arrays. What that means is, being implanted with their electrode array gives you a very good chance to preserve any residual hearing. Obviously each person is different but the odds would be in your favor.

they also have complete Cochlear coverage. This means that the electrode arrays can reach the entire length of the cochlea which gives a much wider range of sounds or different pitches it can pick up. This makes music appreciation so much more enjoyable.

• Like 1

• HearPeers Heroes

Douglas take a look at this video

• Like 2

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi Doug - welcome to the group!

I was implanted in October and I still have most of my lower frequency hearing. I play the flute and will admit it was hard at first to discern pitches with the implant. It is gradually getting better with practice and time. I use a music tuner app to help me to determine flat, sharp, or on pitch. The app is really handy especially with scales for practicing. I'm thinking because the guitar has a nice low and full sound, it will be easier than the flute to pick back up with the CI.