Hi newbie here!

lauren27

I just got word that I will be finally doing my unilateral CI surgery on May 10th. I am extremely excited for this, as the last year living completely deaf, having a huge communication barrier between myself and the rest of the world has not been fun. I grew up with 30% hearing in my left and fully deaf in my right ear from age 3 up until February 2016 when I lost what little hearing I had. I was able to function pretty well with my 30% so I never relied on or learned sign language (which I now kick myself for). I was given 3 options of brands of CI's and was wondering which was the best? AB, Med el, or Cochlear? All the research I've done shows that they are all good, but since I don't know anybody else that is deaf or has an CI, I figured I'd ask here! Thanks in advance for any feedback!

• Like 2

• HearPeers Heroes

Congratulations Lauren!  Wishing you all the best on your hearing journey.

I was also given the choice between all three brands and chose Med-El for the electrode array options.  Things to consider when choosing your brand:

-customer service (I have had terrific customer service from Med-El.)

-backward compatibility (Med-El makes future external processors compatible with all internal devices.  This will be important many years from now as we hope to keep using our original internal devices and will want to use the newest processors.  This is something that is not true for all three brands.)

-waterwear options (All three brands have ways we can hear in the water.  Some use a hard plastic case.  Others use stiff bags.  One has a special waterproof coil but it is large.  I love Med-El's Rondo waterwear cover.  It's so comfortable you don't even know it is on and everything sounds terrific.)