Sound Quality of CI

danelleslc

Hi!  I'm new to HearPeers and this is my first post.  I'm a late-deafened adult with a progressive hearing loss.  I received a Med-El implant in April 2012 and was activated a month later.  While I'm very grateful for my CI and the improvement in my ability to hear, the sound quality is still not as natural as I would like.  It is still somewhat "tinny," high-pitched, and hollow. In the 6 mappings I've had since my activation 11 months ago, my audiologist has tried pretty much everything she can think of.  Has anyone else had a similar experience with the sound quality?  Do you have any suggestions for us to try when I go in for another mapping in a few weeks?  I would welcome any ideas!

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi Danelle,

Welcome to the forum.

I've been activated for a little over two years now and luckily for me the hearing you describe lasted only a couple of months.

In my mapping sessions my audi kept the overall volume down a little which helped with the tinny sounds.

Do you do any hearing rehab? Do you actively go out and challenge yourself with hearing?

12 months is still early in your hearing recovery, keep practising and hopefully things will improve.

Good luck,

Matt

• HearPeers Heroes

Danelle,

Matt is spot on. My Audi did the same thing in being pretty conservative with the volume. It did take a while for me to lose the tiny echo effect but it did go away. As matt mentioned, I was very aggressive in practicing all the time. Each person is a little different in that 2 people with same age gender and hearing history implanted at the same time might have totally different progress rates with the CI. I'm sure your audi will get things figured out. As Matt said 12 months isn't very far into it. Try to hang on as it will get better. I have been implanted 2 years this week. The second year making just as many gains as the first.

Matt & Adam,