Sonnet not very water resistant

Helgeo

I have been using Sonnet for almost two years now, it is fantastic most of the time. But it is so sensitive to moisture like rain or sweat. I have replaced my processor 6 or 7 times since I got it due to water entering one of the microphones. Med-El claims that the Sonnet is water resistant but it is not.

Problems occurs when doing heavy physical work (sweating) or being outside in rain. Of course I'm carefully trying to protect the processor against water, but sometimes it is unavoidable to expose it to some sweat or light rain.

Using an "Ear-Gear" cover protects it well, and of course the water-wear is 100% water proof, but these protectors are usually only used in planned situations with risk of moisture. But sometimes people (at least me) end up in situations where sweating or rain comes unplanned and where we still want to be able to hear people around us.

I think the main problem is the design of the filter, it is facing right up and once a drop of water lands on one of the microphone grids it will slip through and become trapped inside the filter. Once water gets beyond the filter it is too late to fix by replacing filter or place in dryer, the only solution is to get a new processor.

Also I have very short hair so the processor is not protected by my hair.

I have been wearing Widex Inteo Super (BTE)hearing aids for many years, and still have one on one side. These hearing aids have nano coated filter covers with openings on the sides. Not once have I had any problem with water on these aids. I have tried to suggest to MedEl Nordic that they look into the filter design, but it seems to be difficult to get the message through.

Does anyone else have moisture problems with the Sonnet?

Best regards from Norway,

Helge

• HearPeers Heroes

I found my Sonnets still worked but the quality of sound was greatly impacted until they went through the Dry Kit cycle.