Sandy L.

Hi HearPeers,

I am very new to my Sonnet implant, which was "switched on" on September 25.

Wow, the world is such a noisy place. It's wonderful.

I have asymmetrical hearing loss, so I will always have to use a hearing aid in my left ear and right now that left hearing aid is very old, but chugging along with my new multi-coloured Sonnet. I love it. Eighty-five percent of my hearing comes from my left ear. Since surgery, I've not regained what little hearing I had in the implanted right ear.

Suddenly, I can hear music, birdsong, the wind and the sound of my dog panting when we go out for our walks. I hear the leaves beneath my feet. I hear the sounds of planes overheard and the sounds of cars behind me whilst walking. I can hear on the phone, somewhat, using the CI implant and my hearing aid on speaker phone, but it's not perfect, yet. Far from it.

I am interested in knowing if there are any telephone tips you can add. Is there equipment I should consider. I never used a telecoil with my hearing aids and do not have one now set up on my fine tuner. That can be adjusted when I get a new hearing aid, which I will, in time.

It's very reassuring to have joined a community of people with similar and far more CI experience. My family thought that the minute I was "switched on" I could go to a movie or to the theatre. I had to explain that this process is like learning a new language and it's no "slam-dunk," but it's a wonderful journey and I'm thrilled beyond words, thus far.

Thanks in advance for all or any tips you can offer.

Cheers,

Sandy L.

• HearPeers Heroes

I feel like I may have answered this under a different thread but in case I did not.....

check out telephone with confidence online.  Boring but very helpful.

look at our rehab topic for lots of suggestions.  Very helpful topic indeed. 

• HearPeers Heroes