Facial Nerve Stimulation Problems-Question regarding triphasic pulses or other programs to help

Richard Adams

Hello all!   I'm very new to the CI world, and I have single sided deafness.  Had my implant placed in mid January, and got my processor in February.  I've had several appointments and have gone up in volume with several programs.  However, right now they are leaving it on one program, due to my eye twitching.   I know they would like to get my volume up and I would as well.  It seems that my facial nerve is stimulated on all electrodes.  So I'm assuming they cannot turn off the offending electrodes. 

Would programming it with triphasic pulses help me?  Has anyone out there programmed their processors around this problem?

Thank You

• HearPeers Heroes

Triphasic pulses are designed to avoid this problem.  Definitely worth trying.

Have you had imaging after implantation to check the position of the electrode array?  I would definitely speak with my surgeon about that too.

• Like 1

Thank you Mary Beth, they did a CT scan a couple of weeks after surgery.   I can run this by my surgeon.   Also, I'm going to talk to my audi to see if they can try to program it with the Triphasic pulses.   I'm getting close to having the volume match my good ear so this may work.

Thank You!               

• HearPeers Heroes
  • 2 weeks later...

Hi I have triphasic  mapping and have for 7 years,  my facial nerve  was affected,  I got vertigo and pain as the volume was increased  I got very  frustrated  as like yours it was all electrodes.  I had my mapping done by the Med el  rep and  he tried  triphasic. It works  not perfectly  but enough that I can hear  well.  I can  enjoy  music  and am really  happy with it. 

Good luck. 

• Like 2

Thanks so much.  My Audi is reaching out to med el’s, in house people. She is sending them my maps and I hope they can figure something out.  So glad that it has helped you.  I would just love to get my volume up some.