Second Implant and Tip

drobinson

I am scheduled for my second implant on August 27th.  Still struggling a little try to hear (understand) with one implant, but it continues to improve every day.  My second implant should make a big difference

TIP: I just found a cure for active people with CIs and perspiration.  I'm a land surveyor so I get hot during the day and sometimes my CI cuts-off due to perspiration.  I've tried EarGear® but it is not waterproof and actually soaks up perspiration like a sponge.  Having a soaked sponge wrapped around your processor is not good.  It did not work.  So I thought what would be a simple solution.

My wife had some gauze that adheres to itself and nothing else.  I looked like it might be waterproof.   So, the next day I took the gauze and wrapped it around my processor (only two layers).  I went to work and, as usual, I began to sweat profusely.  My clothes were soaked and my hair was soaked, but my processor remained dry!  It worked!

Attached is the product and my wrapped processor.  I hope this helps others!

Processor Wrap.pdf

• HearPeers Heroes

Donald,

First of all, AWESOME!!!! your going stereo!! It;s funny how some products work for some and not for others. I have used ear gear before and never really had a problem. I guess the rate of sweat makes a big difference.

Seeing how i just recently lost my eargear, I might give the gauze a go and see what happens.

Please keep us updated

Donald,