Musicians with unilateral implants?

monikka

Hello,

I am a musician considering getting a unilateral CI but concerned about how it might affect my hearing and playing music.

Are there any musicians out there who have a unilateral implant? It is important for me to understand how this surgery could affect this very important part of my life!

For years after a car accident my hearing on the left has steadily declined. In the last years I've become completely deaf on that side. My other ear hears perfectly.

If you are a musician with a unilateral implant or share a similar experience could you tell me about your experience?

The model I'm considering getting is the Rondo.

Does music sound different? Does the functional ear become dominant? Does music sound tinny? And does musical appreciation go back to normal one-sided if you remove the device?

And does it affect pitch-recognition in any way?

Thanks in advance for your input!

Monika, Welcome to HearPeers!  The US has just started implanting people with Single Sided Deafness so there aren't many people who mirror your situation.  Art Kupferman is the only person I know of who has been implanted and he is still early on in his journey. I wear bilateral RONDOs but was bimodal for 5 months after wearing hearing aids for 25+ years.

Which is your dominant ear? I ask because if it is your soon to implanted ear, your other ear will be working overtime to process the sound.  Your implanted ear will be processing sound in a totally different way. In musical terms, your unaided side is listening to Bach's  "Tocata and Fugue in D Minor" while your implant is processing Kraftwerk's "Autobahn". With proper therapy and time both sides will be working together. My hearing therapist explained the difference to me this way. Unaided ear hears top down while the implanted side hears bottom up.

Music does sound different but as your brain gets used to the new "normal" the sound will become more like what you remember.