New to this:)

Christa

Hello

I am new to a cochlear implant. Just had my activation on July 8th.

Taking some getting used to.

• HearPeers Heroes

Hello Christa

I would have to say, it took some getting used to for all of us.

Welcome to hearpeers! Feel free to share as much or as little about yourself as you would like. Also feel free to ask as many questions as you would like. Looking forward to getting to know you. Congratulations on your activation

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi Christa,

Welcome. I was activated on March 9th. A lot changes during the first few months.

Mary Beth

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi Christa,

Welcome to Hearpeers. It does take getting used to but it's worth it. Ask any questions. We will all pitch in to answer.

Sandy

Thank you very much. I am working hard at it, and am even doing the homework I was given LOL

Even though it has only been a week, I was thinking can this sound become normal to me?

I have opted to leave my hearing aid out of the other ear as I learn to use the cochlear. Is this the norm? I heard I would learn quicker?

I only have about 4% hearing with my hearing aid in that ear anyway.

• HearPeers Heroes

christa

I have 2 cochlear implants which I got a few months apart. My Audi told me to try to leave my first processor off as much as possible, to give the new implant and my brain a chance to catch up.

It will get better. Try to remember the 3 P's. PATIENCE, PRACTICE and PERSISTENCE. It is going to take a little time but you will see improvement. There will be days where you have small victories in hearing something for the first time or clearer than you ever have, and there will be days where you will feel frustrated.

Just take it day by day, continue practicing and you will get there. Please continue to let us know how you are doing and ask as many questions as you can.

Adam

Hi Christa. 

Welcome to the forum.