New User- Adjustment questions

bennylips13

Hello, my name is Ben Lippert from Watertown, WI. I had my surgery on June 10th and my unilateral CI device turned on July 10th. I was moderate to profound in both ears before the operation It has gone ok, but I am having some difficulties. I hear some noises better for example the crack of a baseball bat (I'm a baseball coach) or the rustling of a chip bag, but as far as people and conversations I am not much better and in some cases worse then I was before the implant and I can't figure out why. I can hear my voice and the noises I make (yawining, etc.) much better but other people have been a struggle. The music I play on my computer has to be at a louder volume then before I had the operation and I hear it better on my hearing aid side and not my implant side. The device almost sounds like it has an echo to it. Is this something that can be improved during a mapping session (I have one next week)? I've played around with it quite a bit and had it on every phase 1-4, but still have not found a conversational sweet spot. I'm not panicking. My mom had an implant 7years ago with phenomenal results, but I am worried. I feel like I have realistic expectations. I'm not looking for perfect hearing I just want to be able to hear people better than before. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated!

What you want is exactly what I want and I hope we both get it! (I won't be activated until the 29th).

But, I have heard many, many people say that it really takes time and a lot of exposure (practice)  for the auditory nerve and brain to 'get' all the frequencies and to incorporate them into a good 'whole' sound.  So, just keep doing the rehab/homework and keep notes of your thoughts so you have it all at your fingertips to discuss with your audi at your next mapping session.

Please post again (often!) to let us know how you're doing, OK?

• HearPeers Heroes