Greetings! Any former musicians?

Marjorie Monroe-Fischer

Hello!  I am Marjorie Monroe-Fischer, and a complete newbie!  I was implanted 11 days ago, and get ‘turned on’ next Tuesday.  I am anxious about how quickly I will be able to understand speech, and how well I will be able to hear music. I have been a professional musician my whole life until losing my hearing 4 years ago. I have a doctorate in conducting - my hearing was exceptional. Were any of you musicians before hearing loss?  I would love to chat with you!!  Actually, I would love to chat with anyone who has gone through this recently enough to remember their beginning with a CI. 

Thanks, 

Marjorie

• HearPeers Heroes

Hi @Marjorie Monroe-Fischer and welcome!  Congratulations on your implant and wishing you the best at activation and in the following months as so much changes so quickly at first.

I played several instruments for many years before giving up the piano due to my hearing loss progression many years ago.  I was implanted sequentially in 2015.  Best decisions ever!

My right CI began enjoying music at about the 3-4 month point.  Prior to that I listened to music and just enjoyed the parts that were perceived.  At first percussion, then high frequency instruments, etc.  My left CI enjoyed music even before speech.  So each CI journey differs even for the same person.

Pitch perception improved over time and training.  (Check out the aural rehab topic for speech and music training apps and suggestions.  We have a lot of great info there.)

I love music, both familiar and new and the Grammy 2016 album will remain dear to my heart as it was the first music I learned the lyrics to just by listening in many many decades.

I returned to playing the piano in mid 2016 and it is so cool to play music again.  Waking up with songs in my head has been amazing.

There is a FB group for musicians with hearing loss.  People with CIs, HAs, one of each, etc.  There are professional musicians in that group.