New Implant today 9/20/19

dkritter

Hi,

New guy here,  just had my CI implant this morning - now at home relaxing. Bit of history, 62 years old, had severe hearing loss in right ear the day after memorial day 2018. Had the shots, no help. Had some dizziness also which eventually went away, got 2 hearing aids and was able to function mostly normal. Fast forward to March 14th 2019, took dog for a 2 hour run, when i got back to my truck, realized my left hearing aid was not working. Did the maintenance (wax build up) and no, I was deaf in my left ear. Went to ENT and my left (good ear) had a profound hearing loss. Again shots to no avail. Also some  dizziness, vertigo (less then 10 min) Various diagnoses from SSHL to Meniere's  and back again. In other words nothing conclusive.

So I studied online, read a lot, and visited here frequently and decided to move forward with the implant which I had today with no complications. 

October 14th is my activation day and am looking so forward to it. I have my hopes up since I've only been without hearing for less that a half year, but also know there is some hard work ahead. But I'm willing to put that in because I really dislike (nice word) not being including in the conversations and enjoying just being in the here and now.

I did have one question to the forum, two days after activation I am leaving town for a week, wasn't sure if for that first week or so you want to access to your audiologist. My thought is activate it, leave and work on rehab exclusively for a week  and then if have issues see the audiologist on my return. I guess worse case i turn it off till i get back.

Thanks for listening and any newbie advice will be appreciated

Dave

• HearPeers Heroes

Yes you're free to go exploring the world - I wouldn't think you will need your audiologist during the week, between appointments.

• HearPeers Heroes