Hello from Ludomiro

Ludomiro

Hello,

My name is Ludomiro and I am totally deaf on my right year since February 2020.

Before my SHL episode, I had what doctor would call excellent hearing on both sides. Ironically I had my hearing tested 2 weeks before my SHL episode.

Only a few DB loss around 4K, depending on the day.

Hearing was/is one of my work tools because my profession is being a music manager.

In February, all of a sudden I felt a terrible pressure on my right ear accompanied by strong vertigo.

I now know that these are common symptoms for what happened to me but back then I thought it was something to do with the heart.

A good doctor visited and excluded issues with the heart and prescribed me steroids and rest. The hearing came back in full after one week. Unfortunately the same happened 2 more times in the next 3 weeks, hearing gone and back, until I was hospitalized. An intratymphanic inspection could not reveal anything strange, liquid liquid loss or structure damage. The vertigo in the meantime became terrible, I was not able to work or do anything as usual. The steroids and medicine taken in hospital did not bring any improvement.

I have made improvement with the vertigo only 3 months after the SHL episode and still recovering.

Like probably many people on the forum I had to face the fears that the SHL could have been caused by chronic scary conditions, which was excluded during my hospital stay with MRI, ear and X-Ray etc.

One month late, I was told that there were 99,99% chances that my hearing on the right side would never come back and that I should start considering a cochlear implant.

I apologize in advance if what I am about to say could be offending people on the forum who have to face way worse than my loss on one side only.