Introduction -hello

Leslie

Hi everyone,

My name is Les and I’ve suffered from Tinatus for about twelve years and have profound hearing loss having had lots of hearing infections. I’ve had hearing aids for several years but theses no longer help.

ive just about completed my cochlear assessment and an due to be referred to the cochlea implant team in Birmingham, England.

ive been asked to decide which cochlear implant processor I want but I really am unsure what to select. I like the idea of the Rondo 2 given its rechargeable and comes as a single unit but I don’t know what the draw backs are.

i work in IT and attended many meetings and often speak with people remotely via Skype or Teams but this has become very difficult of late.

imlooking to try and get any help in trying to make sure I make the right selection hence this post.

Many thanks in advance 

Les.

• HearPeers Heroes

Welcome to HearPeers @Leslie

Rondo 2 and the newer Rondo 3 are great processors.  There are several options for connecting to sound sources.

The newest generation of Med-El processors are Rondo 3 (one piece rechargeable unit) and Sonnet 3 (behind the ear, rechargeable or disposable battery options).

@Mary, thanks for the info.

im wanting to make sure that whatever I chose will work with external devices if needed. I still have my Roger mic and pen which of course use the hearing aid transmitters so I don’t know how theses will work with Rondo or if in fact I will need them when I’ve got CI fitted. 

Right now I can’t use phones and TV with subtitles is the only entertainment I’m able to use. Music is a no, no as is speaking to people via audio. 

I just don’t know what to expect or what extra kit I will need to order to help my CI do it’s job for day to day activities. I have a regular HA on the left side but this doesn’t do a great deal anymore but my consultant has asked me to keep wearing it as it will help.