Music Appreciation and CI's

HuroniaGirl

A big shout out to @Mary Beth for your You Tube video describing your reacquaintance  with music! Wow, Mary Beth, you have such a precise and analytical approach to your hearing. I am so impressed.

I was a VERY amateur guitar player and finally gifted my beloved 12-string to my son last year, because I had trouble tuning 6 strings, let alone 12! I think my hearing loss was actually evident decades ago when my husband, would often remark that I was out of tune. He played sax throughout highschool. He bought me an electronic tuner to help.  Eventually I wasn't even hearing professionally recorded melody and lyrics properly, though I did develop a keen appreciation for rhythm and beat that I could still hear via streaming!

I have been activated with my CI for almost two months and it was stressed to me, also, that speech recognition is the highest priority for CI recipients. I am delighted to realize that I am beginning to hear music better each day. It's very gradual and subtle, but it has become enjoyable again. Like you, I am very grateful for this extra blessing. 

A question: while you continued your rehab with regard to music, did you stream it all the time, or were you listening from speakers as well? It's noticeably different when I stream, (still sometimes seems a bit off key or in a different pitch), compared to listening from speakers. I still wear a hearing aid in my left ear, and perhaps that is balancing out the slightly robotic sound I am getting from the CI.

I am sending the link to your video to my daughter who is a classically trained piano teacher. She will be very interested in this. I first heard of implants 20 years ago when her husband's tiny toddler niece received an implant. I never dreamed I would need one!

• HearPeers Heroes

Thank you for your kind words @HuroniaGirl.