Rondo Cradle-Goodbye to failed overnight charges?

Tim

• Members

I've got a Rondo 3 and early on I had a lot of failed charges where it seemed that during the night. Plenty of others have had similar problems.   @Roy mentioned using a rubber band to hold it in place while on a boat at sea.  I've been using a rubber band and that works well for me.

On the other hand, being an engineer, I thought perhaps we could could come up with something better. That got me thinking it would be nice to make something that could hold it in place.  I talked about the idea with @John Schulz who said if I could design it, he would make it available to others.  Challenge accepted!

I have a prototyping lab down the hall so yesterday I asked a colleague, Dr. Bill Dresselhaus, which CAD program he recommended for use on the printers.  He said Fusion 360 was his usual recommendation but if I sketched out my idea, he would make enter the first version in Fusion 360.  Second challenge accepted!  (He is a ringer and I was not going to neglect that offer, he worked with Steve Jobs as the industrial designer for the Apple Lisa computer.)

I collected measurements and sketched out a basic design on Wednesday night. I sent Bill the sketch and the next day he  sent me the CAD file.  I walked it down to the prototyping lab and Ed Ivory was able to quickly queue it up for a 3D printer before he had to leave.

Design requirements:

• Material is non-ferrous and doesn't interfere with charging.
  • Should fit both Rondo 3 and Rondo 2.  Including the Rondo 3 with clothes clip still attached.
  • Open design to allow air ventilation around processor and pad.
  • Sits on charging pad (no risk of damage to charging pad like a sticker.)
  • Needs to keep charging port accessible and LED light visible.
  • Designed to fit Med-El aircharge rectangular Qi charger.