Time off work

Katie

Hello all, 

I have SSD and am going to get my CI in May.  My other ear hears almost normally, currently I wear a CROS device.  I am a STAT nurse and am wondering what you all recommend as far as taking time off work post activation (from what I understand the surgery and recovery are not too bad, most people can return to work within the week).  I have great benefits so if I need to take time off it is not a problem.  I am interested in the initial activation period and those first couple of weeks.  Would it be better to be home and in a controlled noise situation?  Or throw myself right back into work because the way things sound and the hard work my brain will have to do will not be so overwhelming.  My job is quite hectic and is mostly responding to bedside emergencies so I need to be fully present and capable of focusing on the task at hand. 

Thanks so much!

Hallo, ich bin nach der Aktivierung sofort wieder arbeiten gegangen. Ich bin Köchin und arbeite in einer sehr lauten Küche. Es war und ist sehr schwer mit den Lärm zurecht zu kommen. Aber je mehr man sich damit befasst, desto leichter wird es. Es ist aber bei jeden anders. Ich drücke dir die Daumen, das alles gut wird. Du wirst auf jeden Fall, viel Geduld und Übung brauchen. Mfg Michi 

• HearPeers Heroes

I was a teacher at that time and only took activation day off.  Being surrounded by the sounds of our everyday lives helps us on our journeys.