24 years SSD

Campnorthstar72

Hello All,

This summer I’ll be getting a CI for my SSD...after 24 years! I’m both excited and scared. Have I been deaf in that ear too long? The research is mixed. Some places won’t do it if the unaided deafness was greater than 10 years. Will I be able to understand speech in that ear? 

• HearPeers Heroes

@Campnorthstar72

The Research sure does paint a poor picture BUT my right side was completely deaf following a surgery to treat Ménière’s disease for 24 years!  It started understanding speech a few hours after activation.  It required dedicated aural rehab daily but it became an awesome hearing ear !  I hope you are as fortunate. 

Check out our topics in REHAB.

• Like 1

Mary Beth,

Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement. Fingers Crossed.

I work in education and have several months off following my implantation...so I plan to double down on the rehab. 🙂

Just to add my 2 cents, I've been single-sided deaf (left ear) for as long as I can remember, so easily +35yrs (I may have been able to hear in that ear when I was younger, but I'm not entirely certain and the problem was first diagnosed in early elementary school). I recently had CI surgery in August 2019 and was activated Sept 1st, so I've now been using a CI in my left ear for about 6 months. In the beginning things were very difficult to understand. I heard "sound", but conversation was largely like 'morse code' to me and I couldn't much distinguish a constant noise like running water from an array of other sounds. But ... things have gradually improved...