SSD - possible CI

MaryGP

Hello all,

I just lost my hearing in one ear, suddenly 3 months ago. I went to bed hearing, and I awakened profoundly deaf in my left ear.  I have been fitted with a CROS hearing aid, but am interested in CI.  Especially, now that it is approved by FDA and I may be able to get insurance to pay.  I am a positive person (well, lets say that I am grossly optimistic) so at first, I thought, this isn't that big of a deal.  I haven't loss my independence.  I am not stuck in a wheel chair on unable to drive (THank God!).  But, as time progresses I am really effected by the back ground noise and its invasion on conversations, my inability to pick up words in multiperson conversations (did people always talk over eachother like that?) and the exhaustion at the end of the day after working so hard to hear every one at work.  You see, I am a manager in a chemical plant laboratory.  The ventilation is necessary and very loud.  I am constantly straining just to hear my employees.  Oh, and then there is music.  Which is now just flat and noisy.

My audiologist thinks I am a good candidate for CI because I just lost my hearing.  I would love to write/speak with someone who has been through the same thing.  Anyone out there?

Peace,

Mary

• HearPeers Heroes

@MaryGP

Welcome to HearPeers!  I see you are in the US.  Med-El USA has regional consumer engagement managers who can help connect you to people and provide info too. Just contact Med-El to be put in touch with the CEM for your region.

I am in New York.

I had unilateral complete deafness following a surgery for meniere’s and spent 24 years listening out of just my left ear with a HA. I spent time with a BICROS system as well.  Now I am bilaterally implanted and hearing with 2 ears is so much easier and better than hearing with one ear.

Feel free to ask questions. Wishing you the best!

• 4 weeks later...

@Mary Beth